Stephen Buchwald
  • 2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry


U.S. chemist and Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry at MIT. Buchwald shares the 2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry with Professor John Hartwig of the University of California at Berkeley for their development of the Buchwald-Hartwig amination, a process used to improve the synthesis of large organic molecules.

Education and Work Experience

1982, Ph.D. in Chemistry at Harvard University
1982-1984, Postdoc. in Chemistry, Caltech
1997-Present, Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, MIT
2005-Present, Associate Head of Department of Chemistry, MIT

Honors and Awards

1998, Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science
2008, Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences
2014&2015, BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences
2018, Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry
2019, Wolf Prize in Chemistry

Major Academic Achievements

Research in the Buchwald Group combines elements of organic synthesis, physical organic chemistry, and organometallic chemistry to devise catalytic processes of use in solving problems of fundamental importance. Profs. Buchwald and Hartwig have profoundly impacted the practice of organic synthesis in general and medicinal chemistry in particular. The transformative nature of their achievement has changed the way whereby ever-more-efficient drugs are discovered and eventually manufactured, for the extensive benefit of society today and in the future. This breakthrough is the fruit of truly basic research and fundamental mechanistic investigations into ligand design and the elementary steps that transition metal complexes are able to entertain. These methodologies proved to be truly potent and represent, as such, a lasting legacy for the art and science of catalysis.