Sheldon Lee Glashow
  • 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics


American theoretical physicist, the Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Boston University and
Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at Harvard University, and the Advisory Committee President of Meso-American Institute for Theoretical Physics. He shared the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics with Steven Weinberg "for their contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current"

Education and Work Experience

1954, BA from Cornell University
1958, Ph.D. from Harvard University
1966-Present, Professor, Higgins Prof. of Physics, Emeritus, Harvard University
2000-Present, University Professor, Boston University

Honors and Awards

1979, Nobel Prize in Physics
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Member of the American Physical Society

Major Academic Achievements

In 1961, Glashow extended electroweak unification models due to Schwinger by including a short-range neutral current, the Z0. The resulting symmetry structure that Glashow proposed, SU (2) × U (1), forms the basis of the accepted theory of the electroweak interactions. For this discovery, Glashow along with Steven Weinberg and Abdus Salam, was awarded the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics.
In 1964, in collaboration with James Bjorken, Glashow was the first to predict a fourth quark, the charm quark. The prediction of the charm quark also removed a technical disaster for any quantum field theory with unequal numbers of quarks and leptons. In 1973, Glashow and Howard Georgi proposed the first grand unified theory. This work was the foundation for all future unifying work.