Jerome Friedman
  • 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics


American physicist. He is Institute Professor and Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He won the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics along with Henry Kendall and Richard Taylor, "for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons
and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model in particle physics."

Education and Work Experience

1950, Ph.D. in Physics, University of Chicago
1990-Present, Institute Professor, MIT
1999, President, American Physical Society
2005-Present, Emeritus Professor of Physics, MIT

Honors and Awards

1990, Nobel Prize in Physics
1992, Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences
2000, President's Medal of the IOP

Major Academic Achievements

Normal matter consists of atoms possessing nuclei of protons and neutrons, surrounded by electrons. In a series of experiments conducted around 1970, Jerome Friedman, Henry Kendall, and Richard Taylor aimed high-energy electrons at protons and neutrons using a large accelerator. They studied how the electrons scattered during the collisions and how protons were sometimes converted into other particles. Their results supported the theory that protons and neutrons are composed of sub-particles, quarks