Niklaus Wirth
  • 1984 Turing Award


1984 Turing Award
Swiss computer scientist. He has designed several programming languages, including Pascal, and pioneered several classic topics in software engineering. In 1984 he won the Turing Award for developing a sequence of innovative computer languages.

Education and Work Experience

1960, MSc from Université Laval, Canada
1963, Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the UC Berkeley
1963-1967, Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Stanford University and at the University of Zurich
1968-1999, Professor of Informatics at ETH Zürich, retired in 1999

Honors and Awards

1984, Turing Award
1988, IEEE Computer Pioneer Award
1988, IBM Europe Science and Technology Prize
1994, Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering

Major Academic Achievements

Wirth was the chief designer of the programming languages Euler, Algol W, Pascal, Modula, Modula-2, Oberon, Oberon-2, and Oberon-07. He was also a major part of the design and implementation team for the Lilith and Oberon operating systems, and for the Lola digital hardware design and simulation system. He received the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Turing Award for the development of these languages in 1984 and in 1994 he was inducted as a Fellow of the ACM.