The WLA Prize Set to Unveil 2023 Laureates on September 14th
Date: 2023-09-12
Source: WLA
back to previous page

(Shanghai, September 12, 2023) The World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize) is set to unveil its 2023 laureates on September 14th in Shanghai, as announced by its initiator, the World Laureates Association (WLA), on Tuesday.

Now in its second year, the highly anticipated list of new laureates will be revealed to the public at a press conference at 10:00 am in the city.

Established in Shanghai in 2021, The WLA Prize is an international science prize initiated by the WLA, managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by HongShan. The WLA Prize aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science. It is committed to fostering global advancements in science and technology, addressing the challenges faced by humanity, and promoting long-term progress in society. Each year, the WLA Prize is awarded in two categories: the "WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics" and the "WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine", with a total award of RMB 10 million for each Prize, which may be divided among up to four laureates.

The Awards Committee and Selection Committee of the WLA Prize are composed of distinguished members from the international scientific community in related disciplines. The Selection Committees thoroughly review all nominations received, prepare a selection report and present a shortlist of candidates per single prize for assessment to the Awards Committee of the WLA Prize. The final list of laureates is then submitted to the Management Committee for confirmation.

The inaugural WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics was awarded to Michael I. Jordan, Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences & Department of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley in 2022 and the inaugural WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine was awarded to Dirk Görlich, Scientific member and Director at the Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences in 2022.


About the World Laureates Association: The World Laureates Association (WLA) is a non-governmental and non-profit international organization. It is one of the world's highest-profile organizations of laureates with three missions: “promote basic science, advocate for international cooperation, and support the development of youth.” Upholding the vision of “Science and Technology for the Common Destiny of Mankind,” the WLA actively foster close scientific exchange among esteemed scientists and scholars around the globe.

About the WLA Foundation: The WLA Foundation is a non-public charitable foundation that supports all WLA missions and activities by bringing together social forces.

About HongShan: HongShan is a leading venture capital and private equity firm investing across technology, healthcare and consumer sectors. Since 2005, HongShan has been fostering entrepreneurship and innovation, backing more than 1,500 companies around the globe with transformative technologies, disruptive business models and high-growth potential. To date, more than 160 HongShan portfolio companies have listed on public stock exchanges, while nearly 130 private portfolio companies have reached unicorn status. It adheres to nurturing scientific talents and entrepreneurs, inspiring technology-driven enterprises, and fulfilling its social responsibilities in the fields of scientific and technological innovation. As the exclusive sponsor of the World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize), HongShan is dedicated to promoting scientific progress and industrial development in China and for humanity as a whole. 

More on: