Call for Nominations: The 2022 World Laureates Association Prize
Date: 2022-04-15
Source: WLA
back to previous page

The inaugural World Laureates Association Prize (the “WLA Prize”), initiated by the WLA, managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by Sequoia China, is now open for global nominations.

Officially established at the 4th WLA Forum in 2021, the WLA Prize will consist of two single prizes, namely the “WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics” and the “WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine”, each for a total of RMB 10 million, being one of the most significant awards in science.

Roger Kornberg, Chairman of the WLA and 2006 Nobel laureate in Chemistry, said that the WLA Prize advocates for original basic science and encourages scientific researchers to be better committed to the common well-being of human beings. It is believed that the WLA Prize, established in China through multi-lateral efforts, will become one of the world's globally influential awards.

"Global technological development has brought revolutionary and far-reaching impact since the start of this century, and the pace of development is only accelerating," said Neil Shen, Founding and Managing Partner of Sequoia China, which is the exclusive sponsor of the WLA Prize. "Sequoia China is committed to supporting cutting-edge technology and fundamental research and encouraging those who push forward the frontiers of science."

The nominations will be closed on July 15, 2022, and the annual prize-awarding ceremony will take place in November at the permanent site of the WLA Forum in the Lin-gang Special Area, Shanghai.

WLA Prize - Introduction
World Laureates Association Prize (the "WLA Prize") is an international science prize established in Shanghai, in 2021, initiated by World Laureates Association (WLA), managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by Sequoia China.
The WLA Prize aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science. It is intended to support global science and technology advancement, address the challenges to mankind and promote the long-term progress of society.
Each year, the WLA Prize consists of two single prizes, namely the "WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics" and the "WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine".
The total award for each Prize, which may be divided among up to four laureates, is RMB 10 Million.

WLA Prize - Selection
The Selection Committee of the WLA Prize will be composed of distinguished members of the international scientific community in related disciplines. The Selection Committee will examine all submitted nominations and submit a selection report per single prize for assessment to the Awards Committee of the WLA Prize.
The Awards Committee will evaluate the nominees pre-selected by the Selection Committee and have a majority vote on the best nominees by secret ballot. The final list of laureates will be submitted to the Management Committee for confirmation.

WLA Prize - Timetable
Nomination Deadline: July 15, 2022.
If you have any questions about the nomination, please don't hesitate to contact us at, or you can visit the official website at

About Us
World Laureates Association
World Laureates Association (WLA) is a non-profit, non-governmental international organization. The membership includes laureates of the most prestigious science awards, including the Nobel Prize, Turing Award, and Fields Medal. The WLA has three missions: to advocate for basic science, support the development of young scientists, and encourage international cooperation.

WLA Foundation
The WLA Foundation supports all WLA activities and is funded entirely by donations from private sources.  

Sequoia China
Sequoia China helps daring founders build legendary companies. In partnering with Sequoia, companies benefit from its unmatched community and the lessons Sequoia has learned over the years. As "The Entrepreneurs Behind The Entrepreneurs", Sequoia China focuses on three sectors: tech, consumer and healthcare. Over the past 17 years, Sequoia China has had the privilege of working with more than 900 companies. It is committed to advancing innovation in science and technology. It actively supports scientists and entrepreneurs, promotes technological innovation, and nurtures leading tech-enabled enterprises, with a concern for corporate social responsibility. As the exclusive sponsor of the World Laureates Association (WLA) Prize, Sequoia China hopes that its support will encourage the pursuit of innovative scientific developments and drive growth across the world.