2020 Turing Award goes to researchers who made programming simpler and extra highly effective
Date: 2021-04-01
Source: WLA
back to previous page

 Alfred Vaino Aho(source:ACM)

 Jeffrey David Ullman


Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)  named Alfred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman recipients of the 2020 ACM A.M. Turing Award for fundamental algorithms and theory underlying programming language implementation and for synthesizing these results and those of others in their highly influential books, which educated generations of computer scientists. Aho is the Lawrence Gussman Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Columbia University. Ullman is the Stanford W. Ascherman Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Stanford University.

The A.M. Turing Award award is named after mathematician and computer scientist Alan M. Turing, who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing. It carries a $1-million prize with financial support provided by Google Inc.